It is a natural process of animal species to become extinct (e.g. dinosaurs, dodos, etc.). There is no reason why people should stop this from happening. Do you agree or disagree?"

People have different views about whether or not the extinction of animal species is a natural phenomenon, and preventing this process is pointless. From my perspective, I am completely against this notion for several reasons.

First of all, humans are partly responsible for various disappearances of animal species. While many wild beasts went extinct from natural causes, a greater proportion of species are on the verge of extinction or no longer extant due to human activities. Mass deforestation to build infrastructure or for timber harvesting has cost wild animals their living habitats, leading to food source depletion and eventually, death. To illustrate, Australia's recent wildfires have pushed around 100 species closer to extinction. Hunting is another notorious cause for the dwindling of animals’ population as many species such as rhinos or elephants are hunted for their body parts. For example, the African Black Rhinos are no longer in existence for being hunted for their horns.

Another point is that preventing animals from becoming extinct is critical to our ecosystem. The loss of animal species could disrupt our ecosystem’s balance. Since all living organisms’ lives in a habitat are interrelated, once a species succumb to extinction, other animals that depend on it will be affected and eventually disappear. This will lead to a lack of diversity and can also cause potential damage to our economy. For example, in 2013, the sunflower starfish in Northern California declined in number due to disease, thus causing its prey - the purple sea urchins to flourish. This sudden proliferation has damaged the red urchins’ population and also exhausted a great source of sushi, which resulted in a slump in the area’s economy.

To summarize, the process of animal extinction has been escalated by human activities such as hunting and deforestation. This will have grave consequences on both our ecosystem and our economy, thus we must take action to protect all animal species.