It is a natural process of animal species to become extinct (e.g. dinosaurs, dodos, etc.). There is no reason why people should stop this from happening. Do you agree or disagree?

The modern era of urbanization has witnessed a severe extinction of animal species as their habitats have become continuously hazardous. Some argue that it is a futile endeavor for humans to interfere with natural processes to protect endangered fauna. Despite acknowledging the logic behind this assertion, to some extent, I still opine that people should be accountable for this issue.

On the one hand, to some extent, proponents for non-intervention in wildlife disappearance are rational. First and foremost, it is the inherent part of the revolutionary process on the Earth maintaining a healthy, thriving, and diverse ecosystem. In fact, many species, including dinosaurs, succumbed to cataclysmic climate changes that led to their demise, followed by an emergence of new species that are supposed to be descendants of the formers with more robust survival abilities. Therefore, all attempts to hinder extinction, according to this view, interfere with the natural order of the planet, meaning that it may cause disadvantages rather than generating any practical benefit. Moreover, all efforts spent on conserving threatened animals may not guarantee desired outcomes while demand exorbitant expenses that should be allocated to other more societal pressing problems.

However, I still believe that people should take immediate action to alleviate this issue for reasons related to human impacts on the environment and the values endangered species can offer. Human beings, as conscious stewards, are under an imperative moral obligation to mitigate the negative impacts of their activities and preserve the diversity of the environment. Indeed, mass deforestation to build infrastructure or harvest timber, overhunting, and pollution due to industrial waste have cost animals their living habitats and food chain, affecting biodiversity and potentially causing a domino effect on other interconnected species. Besides, another aspect is that endangered animals may possess unique genetic traits which should be studied thoroughly in order to pave the way for breakthroughs in medicine, biotechnology, and other scientific domains. For instance, a study published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States reports that a compound found in sharks which is known as squalamine has the potential to be used as a broad-spectrum antiviral agent in humans.

In conclusion, while the natural process of extinction has been a recurring phenomenon throughout the Earth’s history, I would take the view that people should hinder it to save threatened species. Preventing fauna from disappearance is not only an ethical duty but also crucial for groundbreaking discoveries that can greatly benefit humanity.