The best way to solve the world's environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The notion that raising the petrol price can alleviate environmental issues has been gaining traction. From my point of view, while this solution can help tackle environmental problems to a degree, this is not the most optimal solution as creating environmental social awareness would be a more effective approach.

On the one hand, it is crystal clear that exploiting and using fossil fuels lead to the air pollution problem so decreasing the demand for this kind of energy by increasing the price could lessen the amount of exhausted fume. Indeed, once the cost per transportation kilometer soars, people would look for another cost-saving means of transport or decrease their time on the road. For instance, in the year 2022, fuel costs busted out worldwide when the economy recovered after the COVID-19 pandemic, during that time, many people transitioned to riding bikes or using public transportation while other groups of people chose online work. In addition, the increase in fuel costs fosters humans into using alternative energy and inventing energy-saving machines, devices, or vehicles. To illustrate, in Vietnam electric vehicles produced by Vinfast Corporation have become more and more preferable resting on state-of-the-art functions that are not inferior to normal motorbikes or cars.

However, I still opine that an increase in fuel prices can only solve a limited part of the complex environmental issues and a global awareness campaign is the most feasible option. To be more specific, the causes of pollution are diverse, involving the use of plastic bags in shopping or chemicals used in both agriculture and industry which contaminate air, water, and land. Therefore, the most effective solution would be running a worldwide campaign that raises consumer awareness about the environmental cost of their shopping habits and presses companies to reduce the consumption of noxious chemicals and resolve to greener cultivating and manufacturing methods. For example, if governments apply a lower tax on companies that leave less impact on their surroundings, enterprises will proactively find ways to reduce their carbon footprint. Besides, in terms of individual consumption, more environmentally friendly shopping habits, such as using fabric bags, should be educated and spread out among consumers through purchase incentives and marketing campaigns.

In conclusion, it is justifiable to say that increasing the price of fuel partly addresses air pollution. However, I suppose that it is not the best resolution for complicated environmental issues that demand a comprehensive global campaign to convey messages and education so that each individual and group can consciously protect the environment.