Big salary is much more important than job satisfaction. Do you agree or Disagree?

Some people think that choosing a job with high wage is more necessary than those making one feel content/satisfied. I disagree as job satisfaction could support career growth and lead to fulfilled life.

Job satisfaction could help people reach their potential, leading to career growth. This is because, when workers enjoy and share pride in what they do, they become motivated to work harder and improve their skills, increasing their productivity. As their competencies in the field increase, they can achieve their targets at work, having a better chance at getting a promotion, and eventually be paid well for their hard work. For example, Prita Ghozie resigned her everyday job at marketing agency despite high wage in order to pursue her passion in finance education, and five years after starting her career as junior advisor, she became a Director of a well-established finance company.

In addition, job satisfaction could also help people obtain a content and fulfilled life. A fat paycheck usually comes with high responsibility and pressure, and when employees do not share the passion with job itself, they are likely to experience burnout and stress, affecting their quality of life. A survey conducted by The Creative Economy Agency in Indonesia reported that 67% of art workers such as painters, dancers, and writers had a happy life despite the low salary that they get, because they have a chance to do what they love.

To conclude, I believe that it is better for workers to choose a job that brings satisfaction, rather than looking for a big salary. It’s important for workers to focus on their purpose in life and improving their competencies.