Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

It is commonly argued that traffic congestion results from overcrowding in big cities. However, improving the public transportation system can be the preferable solution to tackle this issue.

The emergence of traffic jams is one of the impacts of overpopulation in big cities, reducing one’s quality of life. As more people stay in the city, the higher mobility would be, which increases the volumes of private vehicles on the road. According to the survey done by McKinsey in 2005, 1 out of 3 Jakarta workers suffered from severe stress due to spending more than 4 hours in traffic daily. The following research found severe traffic jams happened due to increased private cars in protocol streets by 20% due to massive urbanization in 1998, which increased Jakarta’s population density by up to 1000.000 people. Thus, overpopulation in urban cities lowers people’s quality of life.

However, improving the quality of public transportation could be a solution to overpopulation in metropolitan areas as people would prefer to use public transportation to commute daily. This would lead to less crowded private vehicle volumes on the road, preventing severe traffic congestion. As what was done by the government in New York City to reduce the traffic congestion problem in Brooklyn in 2007 was to add more bus fleet facilities to attract people using public transportation. This strategy worked as proven to decrease the volume of private cars on several Brookly roads although the population kept gradually increasing over the years. Hence, upgrading the quality of public transportation solves traffic jams issues.

To conclude, overpopulation in city centers may lead to traffic congestion. Hence, a policy regulating the number of children is necessary to tackle this problem. This can be started by evaluating governance that has done the same thing.