Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

It is commonly argued that traffic congestion results from overcrowding in big cities. Therefore, limiting the number of children in the family can be the preferable solution to tackle this issue.

The emergence of traffic jams is one of the impacts of overpopulation in big cities, reducing one’s quality of life. As more people stay in the city, the higher mobility would be, which increases the volumes of private vehicles on the road. According to the survey done by McKinsey in 2005, 1 out of 3 Jakarta workers suffered from severe stress due to spending more than 4 hours in traffic daily. The following research found severe traffic jams happened due to increased private cars in protocol streets by 20% due to massive urbanization in 1998, which increased Jakarta’s population density by up to 1000.000 people. Thus, overpopulation in urban cities lowers people’s quality of life.

The best solution to solve the overcrowding issue in big cities is to regulate the number of children within the family, encouraging them to have fewer children. If people have more children than the number regulated in the policy, they would be asked for a fine. This motivates them to reconsider their plan to have many children. As what had been done by the authority in Japan during 1993 to lower Tokyo’s population density. After a fine of having more than two children in the family was applied, the population density was reduced by up to half over the next decade.

To conclude, overpopulation in city centers may lead to traffic congestion. Hence, a policy regulating the number of children is necessary to tackle this problem. This can be started by evaluating governance that has done the same thing.