Car drivers and cyclists share the same roads, and this can cause problems for both of them. Why is this the case? What measures can be taken to solve these problems?

Having two different speeds is one of the primary reasons why car drivers and bikers are in the same lane causes problems. Therefore, establishing two separate lanes could be a viable solution to this issue.

Cars and bikes on the same roads cause problems due to having different speeds, increasing the number of road accidents. More specifically, the car speeds on the road adjust to one another, creating harmony. Thus, any speeds lower or higher than them would be a distraction that can break concentration. For example, a severe car crash happened in Jakarta after a group of cyclists got into the protocol road during rush hours. This disrupted the driver's concentration as he did not expect a cyclist to turn to the car's front side.

To tackle this problem, two different lanes need to be constructed to prevent the issue of having cars and bikes on the same road as the safety requirement for both vehicles is different. This reduces the number of issues that happen on the road, such as an accident. For example, after establishing a particular bike road in Bandung in 2020, bike accidents decreased by fivefold compared to the prior year. This is because symbols guide cyclists to maintain their safety when turning in any direction that intersects with cars. Hence, building a lane, especially for bikes, would mitigate road issues.

To sum up, although sharing the same road with cyclists and car drivers causes a problem as the speed of both vehicles is different, building two distinguished roads alleviates the problem. If possible, robust law enforcement is necessary to discipline both drivers.