Public libraries should provide books and not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos, or DVDs. Do you agree or disagree?

It is trus that public libraries should accomodate many books in their fasilities. However, a costly advanced technologies such as software, videos, and dvds are necessary since it makes learning easier and provides vivid documentaries.

High-tech digital media in public libraries makes the learning activities become much easier since all the information is packed in one device. As everything is packed, people could look for the knowledge they want in only one click away without having to waste their time as in the printed documents. For instance, a survey conducted by the Yale School of Journalism in 2017 found that students who used e-book as their paper references tend to submit their assignments faster than those who used printed books. The reason was that students found information easier in e-books which located in libraries' computers than in the printed books located on the shelves.

A groundbreaking digital media is also needed in public libraries as it provides more vivid documentaries. This helps people attain more complete information of certain courses since digital media shows it is not only words, but also, pictures, motion graphics, and sound. This experience enables more sense in the brain which makes people understand better. According to an NCBI study in 2016 towards Anthropology students of Harvard University found that more than 80% of respondents can recall the World War II events chronologically in more detail after watching a film documentary compared to those who studied by books.

In all, even though it is good for public libraries to serve many books to their readers, however, innovative media technologies are also needed to support the learning process. Those technologies certainly could help people to learn better.