Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. what problem can lack sleep cause? what is the solution?

It is considered by many that mental debilitating disease results from not getting sufficient sleep. However, this could be mitigated by reducing screen stimulation to help people to fall asleep faster.

Having to experience undersleeping disturbs one’s mental condition, leading to the inability to function daily. Simply put, the shorter one’s length of sleep is, the higher the cortisol hormone level someone has due to insufficient rest for the brain to produce dopamine. The increased cortisol and high dopamine result in stress and further physical well-being. According to a study conducted by McKinsey in 2019, around 70% of Jakarta workers had a gastric problem due to pulling an all-nighter at the office and only slept for 5 hours a day throughout the years. Hence, lack of sleep increases health problems.

Nonetheless, the ultimate solution to mitigate the insufficiency of sleeping is to reduce the stimulation of screen time right before sleeping as it rises the melatonin hormone, the hormone of sleepy. This is because the screen in devices contains blue light that tricks the eyes into assuming that it is still at noon, preventing them from feeling tired. For instance, an experiment done by NCBI on 100 Harvard Medical students in 2021 showed that respondents who stopped looking at phones two hours before sleeping fell asleep 20 minutes faster than those who spent their time looking at their phones before going to bed. Thus, the less screen time, the faster people fall asleep.

To conclude, even though undersleeping can be prevented by eliminating screen time, it is believed that it inevitably leads to mental health problems. Hence, being strict over the sleep schedule is necessary to secure sufficient sleep.