In some countries, people encourage students to find part-time jobs while some people don't. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Preventing students from graduating on time is the primary reason why many avoid persuading students to have side jobs. While some agree, that having a part-time job is the better option for helping students to acquire soft skills.

Some do not recommend students to do a part-time job concerning the delayed graduation since they are more preoccupied with work responsibilities than those coming from school. This leads to students being unable to concentrate and would need to prioritize one more than the others. For instance, around half of exchange students from Bangladesh who went abroad for job training in the US in 2019 had their undergraduate thesis postponed to focus on the programs. Since the delayed graduation leads to a bad stigma on the student’s CV, many parents do not recommend each other to let their children take such programs in the future. However, having side jobs also allows students to acquire experience and skills.

The acquisition of soft skills is why many encourage students to apply for a part-time job, helping students to get hired easier after graduating. More specifically, being in a workplace allows students to get used to being collaborative and responsible, which adds to the students’ confidence when interviewing for job applications. For example, 3 to 4 shortlisted candidates at BCG are known to have several part-time jobs at school. The HR says the way they carried out themselves during the interviews reflects their confidence as they are familiar with a workplace situation. Thus, applying for a part-time job is still encouraged by some people.

In conclusion, although many people do not recommend students to have side jobs, some still do as it facilitates students to develop soft skills. If possible, including job training in the school curriculum is necessary.