As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many argue that having social responsibility is essential to business apart from creating profits. This essay agrees with this notion, companies rely on society to sustain themselves in the long term, and the waste is harmful to the environment.

Companies need to apply social responsibility as they depend on society to sustain their business in generating bigger profits. As more people are concerned about the climate issue these past few decades, brands need to strategize their business to fit their market. A survey revealed by coca-cola in 2019 that their sales dropped by nearly half compared to the prior year after a movement to reduce plastic use that happened around the globe. Their sales recovered after adjusting their packages using the can in 2020. Hence, paying more attention to environmental sustainability helps companies secure their market and increase sales.

Additionally, the harmful waste produced by factories is another factor that businesses need to have a social responsibility, jeopardizing the environment. Waste coming from factories mainly contains hazardous chemicals that pollute the environment, endangering living beings. An investigation done by Greenpeace towards ten coal mines in Kalimantan in 2015 revealed that the waste pollutes the water used by residents from 10km around the mine, causing severe diseases, including mouth cancer. Hence, paying attention to pollution caused by factory waste is necessary for businesses.

To conclude, big organizations must pay attention to social impact as they depend on society to sustain their business, and their waste is harmful to the environment. If possible, this should be included in their core vision as a business from the beginning.