Some people think school should groups pupils according to their academic ability, but others believe pupils with different abilities should be educated together.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Many people believe that schools should classify students based on their academic achievement. Whilst that is acceptable, I believe that grouping students with various competencies are the better option.

On one side, classifying students based on their academic achievement gives them the opportunity to learn faster. As they learn at the same starting point, they do not have to wait for the other students who are still unable to understand certain topics to reach the same level as them. For instance, the acceleration class in Claveland Highschool recorded that most of the 10th graders of 2020 had been able to understand 12th graders' courses. This is because the acceleration students are being treated as they can absorb knowledge faster. However, this will create skill homogeneity in the learning process as they only perform great on an academic basis.

Nonetheless, grouping students with various skills are needed to better collaborate in the learning process. As they are put into diverse environments, they start to recognize people's strengths and weaknesses. They will realize those diversities can complement each other while reaching the same goal. A study done by the Harvard School of Education in 2004 found that there were 30% higher final exam results in the school in Manhattan that classify their pupils in class based on various skills than those that did not. I believe this school of thought is preferable to make a better learning process in class.

In conclusion, grouping students merely based on academic background enables them to learn faster. However, having students with multifaceted skills in class helps to create collaboration in the learning process. Both of the methods need to be taken into consideration.