Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

It is commonly argued that overcrowding in big cities leads to many issues. Although it results in severe traffic congestion, improving the public transportation system could mitigate it.

The excess number of people living in the city center leads to worse traffic conditions, impacting one’s quality of life. As the more people are, the higher mobility occurs, increasing vehicle volume on the road. Thus, it takes longer time for people to travel. According to a survey done by the University of Indonesia in 2012, around 20% of 1000 Jakarta workers experienced severe fatigue after spending more than 4 hours on the road to work at Karawang. The statistic showed more than 200.000 people from East Java migrated in the last couple of decades, creating the rise of vehicle volume in the protocol street by up to 10% per year. Thus, overcrowding impacted the life quality of Jakarta workers.

However, overcrowding in big cities can be solved by improving the quality of the public transportation system, decreasing the volume of vehicles on the road. When the transportation system is convenient, it would be preferable for people to use it more as they do not need to drive and can rest during the trips. For instance, a study done by New York University in 2009 revealed a 20% decrease in the vehicle volume in Brooklyn after an added bus fleed happened in 2005. Although the population of Brooklyn had been recorded a rise by 10% at that time, it did not create worse traffic congestion. Thus, having a well-established transportation fleet is necessary to tackle traffic issues.

To conclude, overcrowding in metropolitan areas can be tackled by providing a well-established transportation system despite creating worse traffic jams. Hence, more government budget allocation is a necessary step to start with.