Public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or DVDs. Do you agree or disagree?

Everyone knows proliferation of high tech media has improved our lives in many ways. Mainly by improving the accessibility for information with in less time. High tech media is more advance in entertainment, attraction and in functionality than books. This essay discusses the importance of high tech media for public libraries to survive.

To begin with, most of us know that latest high tech media can give a very different user experience than a physical book. As an example a video or DVD provides visual effect as well as sound simultaneously. This is very close to real life experience. It also can contain lot of data with in very tiny container which help to save the space. Also electronic resources can be shared among huge users which is not possible with a paper based book. This result in less capital cost to manage high tech media.

Secondly, Users have to wait around a year to get a new version of a book. But, in electronic world updated information is accessible at anytime from anywhere. Therefore, library should get the computer literacy to update themselves to provide better service for their users.

Furthermore, it is a common practice to share library information with other libraries through the internet. If a book is not available in one library, then the borrower can search in another library using this facility. After that, can request to transfer the book to particular library.

In conclusion, I would like to say, considering all the above benefits its really necessary to use high tech media with in the library.