Everyone knows proliferation of high tech media has improved our lives in many ways. Mainly by improving the accessibility for information with in less time. High tech media is more advance in entertainment, attraction and in functionality than books. This essay discusses the importance of high tech media for public libraries to survive.

To begin with, some people prefer to read hard covered book. But, most of us know that latest high tech media can provide a very different user experience than a physical book. As an example a video or DVD provides visual effect as well as sound simultaneously which is very close to real life experience. It also can contain lot of data with in very tiny container helping to save the space. Also, electronic resources can be shared among huge users. This is not possible with a paper based books. This result in less capital cost to manage high tech media.

Thirdly, Users have to wait around a year to get a new version of a book. But, in electronic world latest information is accessible at anytime from anywhere. Therefore, library has the responsibility to get the computer literacy to update themselves and to provide better service for their users.

Furthermore, it is a common practice to share library information with other libraries through the internet. If a book is not available in one library, then the borrower can search in another library using this facility. After that, can request to transfer the book to particular library.

In conclusion, I would like to say, considering all the above benefits its really necessary to use high tech media with in the library.