In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face-toface meetings. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Virtual meetings in companies are seen as more ubiquitous recently than offline meetings. This brings more merits as reducing transportation costs and increasing time efficiency, overtaking the drawbacks.

Having online meetings lowers the budget spent on commuting, boosting employees’ purchasing power. Although transport costs could be cut by more than half, most employees experience an increase in their internet bills due to the requirement of having high bandwidth internet speed for video conference. However, many companies have allocated subsidies for this matter. For instance, more than two third of Jakarta’s startup employees claim to have more money to invest in stocks after their companies implemented the Work From Home regulation in 2020 as they did not pay any rent near their workplace and could only work from their parents’ house.

In addition, time efficiency can be encouraged by doing online sync-up, improving employees’ productivity when doing their work. The impact of this is the increasing number of employees suffering from screen fatigue after staring at a screen for too long, nonetheless, limiting screen time is the ultimate viable solution to tackle the issue of screen deprivation. For example, research suggests that more than half of agriculture sector employees’ productivity index skyrocketed three-fold after choosing to do meetings virtually compared to the previous Work at The Office regulations.

In conclusion, low transportation budget and high time efficiency are the two plus points of doing corporate meetings virtually than in person. If possible, this needs to be implemented widely in many other big corporations.