Many students find it difficult to pay attention at school. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to solve this problem?

Overstimulation from a gadget at home is one of the primary reasons why students experience a lack of focus at school. Therefore, reducing screen time could be a viable solution to this problem.

Easily distracted students studying at school are primarily caused by the overstimulation from the gadget, making their brain hypervigilance towards the tiniest stimuli. The more children are exposed to engaging content on the gadget, the more dopamine their brains produce, making them easily distracted by the slightest stimulus. For instance, research suggests that more than half of students in the US who find it hard to focus during mid-day class are the ones who have been exposed to Facebook from an early age. The necessity of dopamine needed by those children differs from those who have never been using Facebook in their whole life. Thus, gadget stimuli lower students' concentration at school.

Screen time limitation could be a feasible solution to tackle students with low concentration inssue as they train themselves to be more mindful of their surroundings. This results in the proper brain development of students, making them think clearer. For example, the newest findings in the neuroscience field show that children who grow up not being exposed to gadgets develop a bigger prefrontal cortex than those who utilize gadgets. The bigger prefrontal cortex in children's brain development allows them to build longer focus when studying as they have a better awareness of things around them.

In conclusion, although it is hard for students to focus in class due to being overstimulated by phone at home, screen time limitations could tackle this problem. If possible, strict supervision from parents is needed.