Computers are being used more and more in education and so there will soon be no role for the teacher in education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education these days indeed requires to use of more computers for learning activities. However, this would not replace the role of teachers in school since they are needed to cultivate students’ mindset through emotions, and encourage students to learn better.

A teaching method requires emotions to cultivate knowledge as it is easier for students to accept information if they feel relaxed. These methods make students enjoy more learning experiences and result in good grades. For instance, a survey conducted by UNESCO in 2007 towards 10 schools in Arizona stated that a method called emotion-based teaching successfully resulted in a 10% rise of high-school graduates being accepted in the Ivy League compared to the last year. They argued that they enjoy learning as the teacher enlightened them about the advantages of studying so that they did not feel burdened by it.

The role to always encourage students to learn better is needed to be performed teacher as students would surely make a mistake and feel bad about it. Support is needed to uplift student confidence which leads to excellent mental wellbeing and grades. According to the experiment done by Cleveland Highschool in 2001, 80% of 100 students felt less stressed out when receiving bad score since the teacher always reminded them that it is okay to fail, it means that they are progressing. This resulted in higher student average scores compared to their last semester.

In all, even though the involvement of computers in school is inevitable, the role of teachers will still be needed since teaching requires feelings and to encourage students’ improvement. However, computers would be an excellent tool for teaching activities.