More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

Expensive living cost is the primary issue people face after moving into urban areas and expecting a better life. Therefore, officials promoting public facilities could be a viable solution to tackle this problem.

One of the hardships people encounter after moving to big cities is the high living cost from the increasing demand while supplies remain. This encourages scarcity to emerge and creates competitiveness between prices. For instance, a 200-meter square house in Jakarta has cost more than 5 billion rupiahs after folding quadruple in the last four years. The skyrocketing housing price is the byproduct of the overcrowding population issue, which accounted for an average of 2 million people migrating to Jakarta yearly. Statistics show that 80% of Jakarta people find themselves struggling to buy houses for a living, encouraging them to pay for rent instead.

This problem could be tackled by encouraging officials to build a modern public infrastructure reducing the expense allocated to basic needs, such as health care costs. To be more specific, as people know that their basic necessities are being taken care of, they are able to distribute their funds to their secondary needs. For example, after Sweden free their health care and education charge, the sales of apartments rose steeply, indicating higher buying power although salaries remain unchanged. To put it more simply, healthcare and education house expenses made up more than 50% of the budget. Hence, freeing hospital bills and tuition fees saves a significant amount on household expenses.

In all, improving the quality of public facilities from the authority is one of the feasible solutions to tackle the high living cost problem faced by people migrating to large cities. If possible, allocating more budget to the establishment is necessary.