Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally crucial for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Goals that center around economic growth will promote people’s welfare. However, I believe setting a target for environmental sustainability is far more valuable as it prevents the climate crisis from worsening.

The increase in social welfare is the primary reason the government focuses on economic development, generating higher purchasing power. An improvement in a nation's economy usually follows a salary raise given by an employer. Thus more money means an increase in household consumption. For instance, Unilever Indonesia reported a jump in Q3 sales after the Minister of Finance announced a 5% growth in Indonesia's GDP after recovering from the Covid-19 crisis. The data showed an increase in products purchased by each household by up to one in ten, indicating higher buying ability. However, this also leads to more plastic waste as a byproduct of buying more consumer goods.

Environmental sustainability needs to be considered by the government, as most of the damages contributing to climate change come from industrial activities. The worsened climate crisis leads to further environmental destruction that threatens human’s necessities for survival. For example, China’s air quality index has worsened three times within a decade as thousands of manufacturers were built to fulfill the demand. The hazardous carbon polluted the air as coal was used to operate factories, causing the temperature rise and the limited amount of exigent. The condition occurred due to weak law enforcement towards analyzing environmental effects from manufacturers. Hence, robust law enforcement is needed being established by the authority.

In conclusion, although the improvement of the nation’s economy increases welfare, I argue that progress related to environmental sustainability is crucial in climate change prevention. If possible, creating a target combining both aspects is necessary.