The demand for food is increasing worldwide. Why has it happened? What measures could the international community take to improve the situation?

Lacking farming land is one of the primary causes of the skyrocketing demands for food in a global society. Therefore, improving bilateral policies regarding food could be a viable solution to tackle this issue.

Many believe the limited access to farmland is the leading cause of the increasing food demand globally, resulting in a scarcity of food staples in certain nations. This is because much land has been allocated to the business establishment buildings, increasing the scarcity of land for farming. For instance, Japan experienced a rice shortage in 2014 following the massive city restructuring in many prefectures. The construction abolished more than half of the total paddy fields in Japan during that moment, increasing the price by more than three times, given the rise in rice import happening during that time.

To solve the problem of the high demand for food, improving bilateral partnerships could be one of the feasible solutions since the price could be lowered through cooperation consensus. This results in lower food prices as there would be other things to substitute the exchange rather than money. For instance, Indonesia needed to import more than 98% of its soybean intake from Thailand since the demand kept rising in the last decade. As Thailand also depended strongly on Indonesia to supply them with coal, they regulated policy concerning price reduction for Soybean exports to Indonesia. Though the demands continue to jump, the reduced import fees prevented Indonesia’s economy from experiencing a downturn.

To conclude, although the scarcity of farming land results in the rise in food demand, having good bilateral cooperation among countries could be the ultimate solution to tackle that issue. If possible, maintaining good partnerships globally is necessary done by every nation.