Many students are now refusing to choose science subjects at their university level. Why do you think this is happening and what is the impact on the community?

The overwhelming feeling of studying science in high school is why students avoid choosing STEM for higher education. Therefore, the surge of science research in the field is one of the impacts of this issue.

Many students resist taking science as their study area at the University due to the overbudening feeling during high school, making them lose interest in the field of study. More specifically, students are expected to understand an abundance of science theories at once while also learning about other school subjects. For instance, many high schools in Korea have included calculus as a learning material for 11th-grade students, which they are supposed to learn at university sophomore year. This resulted in a decrease in students choosing STEM for higher education by more than 20% in 2020 compared to previous years. Many students claim they are not interested in science because it is stressful.

Thus, the plummeting number of research is the impact of many students avoiding learning STEM at the university as many fields deprive eligible scientists in the future. This leads to the decline of development in many areas of science. For instance, a dip in students who applied for Marine Science Study at several state universities in Indonesia in the past five years led to a scarcity of experts in Marine Science. They are highly needed to develop a Tsunami prevention program in Indonesia as Indonesia has been prone to Tsunami during these past decades. Hence, the deprivation of experts in that field contributes to the slow development of the program.

To conclude, the dip amount of research is one of the problems of students neglecting to pick science study as their university major due to feeling overwhelmed since high school. If possible, the universities have to market the STEM major to be more attractive to attract students.