Some people believe that people who read books can develop more imagination and language skills than those who prefer to watch TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that reading books drive more imagination and language competencies than watching tv. I agree as reading books could activate more parts in the brain and enrich someone's vocabulary to speak the better language.

Reading books has proven to stimulate more neurotransmitters in the brain compared to watching Tv. This is because reading books requires people to imagine the unseen things which activate more than one part of the brain, resulting in a wider connection in the brain that creates imagination compared to those who watch tv. According to a study conducted by NCBI in 2018, reading books stimulate 3 brain parts in children which are hippocampus 1, hippocampus 2, and prefrontal cortex, while those who watched tv only stimulate hippocampus 1. Those who read books can share more intriguing stories afterward compared to those who watched tv.

Furthermore, reading also drives better language skills since people will be exposed to many words in order to understand an event. As the vocabulary increases, people can find a more suitable word for different situations they face in everyday life compared to those who only watch tv. A survey done by the University of Indonesia in 2006 found that respondents who spent their time reading books in English on weekends were likely to speak English faster than those who spent their weekend times watching tv.

To conclude, reading books are more likely to help people in developing their imagination and language skills compared to watching tv. Thus, the habit of reading books is better to be cultivated in people from an early age.