Overpipulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the cause of this? How can this problem be solved?

The overcrowding of urban centers becoming the primary risk in many nations as people look for decent job opportunities. However, a program regarding equal job opportunities granted by the government could tackle this problem.

Better employment opportunities are why the overcrowding of mega-cities happened, providing hope for improving one's life. To put it simply, the job opportunities found in the outskirts area are inadequate to accommodate people's basic needs. For instance, a survey done by The Ministry of Manpower in 2019 revealed that around 20% of Jakarta's workers come from the suburban area of Yogyakarta due to the small amount of minimum salary they get in a month, only 1,2 Million IDR. This condition is five times smaller than what they get from working in Jakarta. Thus, people from the countryside tend to prefer working in big cities.

The approach to solve this issue is to provide equal job opportunities in the sub-urban areas, preventing people from doing urbanization that leads to overpopulation in urban centers. When people feel that their basic necessities are met, they would think that it is no use for them to travel far from their homes for jobs. As shown by a study conducted by the Faculty of Economics in 2020, the expansion of manufacturing factories in the outskirt of Bantul opened 100,000 employment, decreasing the number of people migrated to Jogjakarta. This is caused by the salary given being twice higher than Jogjakarta’s.

In all, the overpopulation in big cities is caused by people who look for decent job opportunities. However, an equalization of job opportunities could tackle this problem. Thus, overpopulation would be solved in the long run.