Emplyement

there is an emerging debate that working in a different organization is better than being at the same company for years. Although staying in the same place can uplift you through the career ladder faster, I believe working in different organizations broadens our network.

Working with the same employer for years could escalate your career faster which also leads to an increase in salary. This is because the company has seen those people stay when the workloads get tough which represents their loyalty to the company so that the company trusts them more. According to an ILO survey in 2019 found that 70% of people who have been working 40 years in the finance sector has a higher salary rate than those who worked in different organization. Most of the reason is that they have been trusted by their bosses to handle projects.

On the other hand, working at different companies lead to a broader network of people has. This led to various partnerships one acquire to be an entrepreneur as one has been trained to get along with people from different backgrounds. A survey of PwC in 2002 found that nearly 50% of entrepreneurs in Silicon Valley hire their core team from old acquaintances where they used to go to work. This is because they feel more comfortable talking and working with them.

To conclude, even though working at one company for years may increase salaries faster, being an employee in different companies widen one's network if one wants to be an entrepreneur. Both choices have their own favorable impacts to workers.