Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular.

Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Online shopping is increasingly well-known due to several benefits. However, the demerits are more severe because plethora of consumers mostly suffer from seller frauds and cyber-crimes.

To commence with, purchasing goods in e-commerce is because of easy access to receive those without going out to physic shop. Nevertheless, this has a detrimental impact due to the fact that buyers will be cheated by the merchants in some internet-shopping applications, the stuffs they buying are not original. For example, Indonesians purchase IELTS books in Tokopedia, ordering those effortlessly with one-clicking only, the sellers guarantee those are not imitation possessing high printed quality. When these such literatures have delivered, then those are checked, the writing is blurred, and this means that it is categorized as such a scam.

Moreover, surfing in online store to buy a number of stuffs has a tendency to be cheaper in order to claiming discount vouchers. Nonetheless, people registering an account in e-commerce witness data hacking, that is why it provides more severe effects. For instance, Traveloka offers discount to the users monthly, claiming voucher to reserve costless flight to travel abroad. In 2020, this huge internet-based travel agent was hacked because of the security system unmaintained, and the millions of accounts were crawled, and the users’ data had been identified to be sold by the hackers in deep-web.

In conclusion, the Internet-based purchasing reveals more drawbacks than the merits, witnessing the data crawling and merchants’ fraud. If consumers desire to avoid the negative influences, they shall have a high awareness prior to buying the things virtually, and do real-time check their own account.