Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’

How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

For over the last 30 years, the number of cars on the roads has been increasing quickly which become the major reason for traffic congestion in many cities across the world. I think this is completely true and there are, fortunately, some solutions that the government could have to reduce the use of cars.

No one can deny that there are now too many cars take part in traffic of a city everyday. This is because of the fact that most people find this vehicle to be very comfortable means for transport. Besides, thanks to some certain trading policies of the government and the competition between car producers, it is easier for individuals to own cars. Therefore, the amount of cars rising so fast. In my city, the number of cars even higher than that of other transportations. This cause many problems of which traffic congestion is one.

There are several actions that government could take to solve the problems described above. Firstly, a simple solution would be to impose more taxes on people who use or own cars so that the price of car will increase. If it is more expensive to own a car, people may not choose to have one. The second measure would be band cars travel in city central in rush hours. The last solution would be to improve the quality of public transportations to encourage citizens to use them instead of depending on cars.

In conclusion, I believe that the increasing amount of cars leads to the issue of traffic congestion in cities and measures to solve this are always available.