Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is?

What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars.

Recent decades have observed an enormous rise in car ownership, raising many questions of its ramifications on societies. Given that this pattern is currently causing traffic congestion in many municipalities, official authorities shoud undetake initiatives to address this issue.

It is true that traffic jam is major problem cities have to grapple with. First, insufficient public disbursements on transportation infrastructure would culminate in the deteriorations of bridges, superhighways and the installments of modern ones. This is proved to easily congest the flow of vehicles, making bottleneck an inevitable product. Second, since car is an automobile vehicle, physical exertion required is no longer needed, enabling easier mobility. It is impied that automobile dependency would rise among commuters, leading to higher possibiliies of traffic congestion.

However, there are many measures governments should take to prevent this issue. First, the legislation of imposing higher tariffs on cars and car components should be enacted. It is proved that taxation would raise the car prices, hindering car accessibility among the middle class, which consitutes the large chunk of the population. In addition, official authorites should organize campaigns, raising citizens’ awareness of cars’ environmental costs. Consequently, individuals would use public transportation as an alternative, limiting the risks of higher carbon concentrations and traffic congestion.

In conclusion, traffic gridlock stemming from increased car ownership is stifling the development of many areas especicially metropolises. However, by imposing stricter tax policy on car import and creating social campaigns related to cars’ environmental impacts, the issue could be easily combatted.