Causes of unemployment nowadays

Unemployment is a big problem for individuals, communities and society. A question is raised what causes this problem. In my opinion, overpopulation, lack of appropriate qualifications and global pandemics have been responsible for joblessness.

In the first place, the increase of population is one of the main reasons for unemployment. Obviously, when overpopulation occurs, the number of jobs are fewer than the number of applicants. Therefore, many people are difficult to find a job. According to statistics from The National Statistics Bureau, in Vietnam in 2018, the population increased which led the unemployment rate reached up to 25 percent compared to in 2015.

The second cause is the lack of qualification for employers. In fact, many graduates are unemployed because they lack of not only appropriate qualifications but also necessary skills for their job responsibility such as communication skills and group working skills. A servey conducted by The Social Journal published that 90 percent of university leavers could not seek for a job due to their lack of practical skills.

Finally, global pandemics also result in joblessness. A typical example is The Covid-19 pandemic, which we are facing now. It is clearly that during this pandemic most companies had to close to prevent from the spread of the pandemic. At that time, workers had to stay at home instead of going to work. It means that they became unemployed people.

In conclusion, there are some main reasons for unemployment including the increased population, the lack of qualification for applicant and global pandemics. To tackle this problem some practical and effective solutions should be taken as soon as possible.