Childhood obesity is an increasing problem in Australia. As many as two third of children are now obese. Schools have a responsibility to monitor what their students eat and the amount of exercise they do. To what extent do you agree or disagree this statement?

Obesity in the younger generations is becoming increasingly problematic, especially in Australia where approximately 33% of children suffer from this preventable disease. Some people have suggested that schools should be responsible for the prevention and treatment of their students’ weight issues by monitoring their food intake and exercise output. This essay will discuss why I completely disagree with this proposition because it is far too draconian.

The main reason, why schools should not monitor children’ food intake and exercise output, is because it is not their job to do so; it is the jobs of the parents. Schools are responsible for education, and they certainly educate children on the value of nutrition and exercise but watching what they eat and how much they exercise is not their purview. For example, it would be far too invasive for a teacher to ask students what they have been eating at home and how much they have been exercising. This should lead to all sorts of problems with parents and teachers even though it may yield results. In short, parents should remain responsible for raising their children healthily while schools should focus on educating them.

A secondary reason why schools should not meddle with children’ diets and exercise regimes is that it may have negative psychological impacts on the students themselves. Although teachers are excellent role models for children, again, it is not their role to monitor their health. If a teacher were to single out a student for being overweight, for instance, it could have profound negative effects on the student including isolating them from their peers and promoting bullying. Even if a student is obese, a teacher should not reference this in the classroom and certainly not ask them about their eating and exercise habits. Clearly, this is a bad idea.

This essay discussed why schools should not be part of a child’s prevention or treatment for obesity because it is not their role and it may cause mental problems for the child at hand. In my opinion, I completely disagree with the proposition that childhood obesity is the responsibility of schools.