Children have more and more tests and exams to do at school, sometimes starting from the age of five or six, right up until the age of 18. What are the advantages and disadvantages of making children do exams?

During school time, children have to take a lot of exams and test for many purposes. More and more people critic this kid of evaluation methods, which do not examine all aspects of learners. The popularity of doing test and exams at school show that there many positive by doing these, however, it brings a lot of negatives. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons why doing test and exam at school is popular and in some cases, it already has been an out of date method.

At first, test and exam could be an easy method to evaluation in school. This method has a long history in education. By taking an exam, the teacher can evaluate knowledge learnt in the course, and quickly given a result of the exam. A multi-choice test based on question bank can apply for many pupils, and results are quickly ready.

Another advantage is that easy quality control of exam. Usually, in school, there maybe have two exams in a semester: mid-exam and final exam. For a course, only one test can apply for all, and teacher and head of school can easily control quality due to the simplicity of this method.

Turning to the other side of the argument, the main drawback of this evaluation method is that it is not adequate for estimating knowledge, ability, and attitude of pupils. Only one or two exams (midterm and final exams) does not estimate fully, what pupils have learnt in the course.

Especially, for primary school, there is no need to take test or exam at all. Children should be encouraged to join in class and do task as teamwork. And for well-done solution, a teacher should give them good marks which is call process evaluation. The exam also puts children in stress condition. Before taking an exam, they should spend so much time and sources to review the lesson, and after long tension exam, they may get a bad mark. This can affect badly on the emotion.

All things considered, doing test and exam in school have benefits due to its simplicity, easy quality control. On the other hand, this kind of evaluation method cannot estimate adequately pupils and unsuitable for pupils at the primary school.