Children nowadays are spending too much time playing video games and very little time playing sports. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

The volume of screen time which children spend has always been a great concern of every parent. In recent decades, young children have been setting aside a tremendous amount of time in their schedule for video games, despite engaging in sports activities. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this alarming trend, as from my standpoint, this is a negative overall.

There are various variables why youngsters have been increasingly obsessed with online gaming platforms rather than physical exercises. Firstly, it could be due to a lack of parental regulations, thus allowing online virtual life to be more accessible than ever. Meanwhile, working parents who are ordinarily short on time could barely pay close attention to their sweethearts as they're already juggling with the bustling routine of everyday life. Some are even satisfied with the circumstance since they reckon it would be much safer for their children to be engrossed in electronic gadgets rather than exposed to external threats. On the other hand, several attributions also contribute remarkably to the trend. The fact that skyscrapers and tall buildings are springing up fast, specifically in urban areas, could be an obstacle to the spare space for public playgrounds or botanical gardens construction, meaning that children have nothing left but electronic devices to occupy themselves in. Urbanization is a shred of solid evidence as the determinant of children's deprivation of physical activities.

From my perspective, this situation is highly concerning and could lead to a negative ripple effect. Firstly, some video games contain violent or explicit contents that are undoubtedly inappropriate for children at young ages and could potentially affect their immature personalities. For example, obsessed with brutal scenes in online games, an American adolescent committed murder and faced a 20-year sentence. Secondly, excessively spending time on video games inward the house without doing physical exercise, the average amount of calories burnt daily will be much lesser, resulting in health issues such as diabetes, obesity, or heart diseases when they grow up.

In conclusion, there has been widespread public endorsement for the harmfulness of children overplaying games intensively. I believe that engaging too much in online pieces of entertainment like these can obstruct children's cognitive ability and bring them to the threshold of potential health problems.