Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well-educated today

In the modern world, the issues surrounding the educational role of television has fuelled a social controversy. Some claim that an overly excessive amount of time spent on watching television makes children less well-educated. This essay will take a social perspective to show the reason why I cannot agree totally with this claim.

In the current society it is common sense that watching television has a great deal of benefits as a learning method. The most remarkable element is an audio visual effectiveness, in particular, which carries considerable weight in learning languages. Through watching TV children can learn listening, reading and speaking skills at the same time. Which is impossible with books. Furthermore, TV programs offer more attractive resources such as animation and 3D technology, which make children more easily concentrated on learning. On the other hand, television can shorten learning hours. For instance, watching an hour-long discovery channel is roughly equivalent to reading a couple of books.

However, no one doubts that there are some drawbacks in watching television. Firstly, a decline in creativity and imagination will be a pivotal problem since most of TV programs do not offer much time for children to think in depth. Secondly, health problem is a big issue. Children tend to eat junk foods or any of their favorite snacks while watching TV. This can lead to obesity. Furthermore, harmful electro-magnetic waves emitted from a TV deteriorate eyesight and also cause visual disturbances, such as eye-strain, blurred vision, etc.

Lastly, TV makes children lazy due to addiction. Children tend to forget or procrastinate their homework and other important things when they get engaged in the attractive TV shows.

In conclusion, despite television has obvious demerits, it is also a true fact that watching TV is more advantageous than reading books in some part. Therefore, it is hard to say that not only watching TV is the main reason of children’s academic performance declining but also it can completely replace books as an academic method. I believe that the appropriate combination of television and books is the best way to improve children’s academic ability