Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well - educated today. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In the age of technology, many youngsters immerse themselves in television programs for hours not only for entertainment but also for educational purposes. While I agree that the role of books in teaching cannot be replaced by television, I opine that this tendency would not lead to less brilliant.

First and foremost, books play an unalienable role in education, which cannot be underestimated and replaced by television. Reading books is different from watching TV programs, as it enhances reading skills, creative skills, and critical thinking which are essential for children's career in the future. More importantly, programs on television are limited by broadcast duration, so they cannot specialize in a particular subject. However, through books children can gain expertise in a specific field which is proven, argued, and analyzed by leading experts; therefore books not only provide a range of knowledge but also stimulate curiosity and inspire children to pursue their speciality.

However, I do not think that kids who watch several hours of television are less well-educated. Firstly, television is also a reliable tool to gain knowledge. For instance, I am a big fan of Davinci Kids channel where I can learn about different subjects from psychology to physical theories through interesting animations and appealing ways to convey knowledge. Secondly, there are numerous adolescents who are interested in TV programs as well as an avid reader. As a result, they have various sources to broaden their horizon and become more knowledgable about their favourite subject.

In conclusion, while television cannot take over the role of books as a learning tool, I strongly disapprove the idea that children who spend hours in front of a TV screen are synonymous with less intelligent.