Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different ages and cultures goes together. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is strongly believed that music can unite people regardless ages and cultural backgrounds. While I am convinced by the idea that music is a clue to attach people, I also think that there are some distant interests that this type of arts cannot connect.

On the one hand, I do not doubt that the power of music which can connect people whose different ages and cultures. First and foremost, music expresses human emotion such as love, jealousy and patriotism, so timeless songs can inspire people and make them become closer. For instance, I believe that people irrespective of generation and nationality would share the same feelings which are happy or moving when listening to the “Happy New Year” performed by the ABBA band. Moreover, each person has his own memories about a particular song or kinds of music. Hence, if he shares his memories with others, they can get bond and learn more about traditions in a specific time or country.

On the other hand, I also think that sometimes music cannot reach across age and national boundaries. From the age perspective, there is gap between generations which leads to conflict about which is the right song to love. World has changed day by day; therefore some contemporary types of music such as rock and ballad can feed up the interests of youngsters but can be underestimated by elderly. From the cultural backgrounds perspective, a few of foreigners cannot be interested in traditional songs of a country. For example, some tourists coming to my hometown, which is an heritage site, will choose to spend a night in bar instead of enjoying a traditionally instrumental performance.

In conclusion, although sometimes music cannot bring different people together, I strongly agree that people from different generations and traditions can be connected by this wonderful art.