Children nowadays watch significantly more television than in the past, which reduce their activity levels accordingly. Why is this the case? What measures can you suggest to encourage higher levels of activity among children?

Today, television plays an integral roles in human's modern life. Youth now are more interested in viewing TV set than doing physical activities, compared with the past generations. Although there are several reasons for this trend, some solutions will be discussed in this essay.

It is undoubted that two vital causes attracting teenager's attention are the reasonable price of television and compelling programs. First, since television could be easily affordable recently, it becomes more prominent in every household. This means that infants may watch the screen whenever they would like to, which separate them from the outdoor world. Second, as producers have been broadcasting a wide variety of programs such as cartoons, movies and game shows, targeting children, they devote all their leisure time in front of the screen. For example, if a child follows a certain movie, they are more likely to be addicted and less active.

Some typical causes mentioned above explain for the recent lifestyle of teenagers. A few measures should be considered to eradicate this negative trend. First, parents could set time limit on watching television and introduce kids numerous other active sports at the same time, volleyball, soccer, badminton, for instance. Obviously, when children's curiosity and passion are inspired, they would actively participate in sports. Second, employers should cut down at least one working hour to parenting employees so that they can spend more free time on playing with their sons and daughters. Therefore, the connection between children and parents will be reinforced, leading to adults' advice become more sensible.

In conclusion, the extent of activity among children are reducing because of development in television. Hence, parenting couples should utilize more time to take care of their children and guide them healthy lifestyle.