Children’s education is expensive. In some countries, the government pays some or all the costs. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

It is true that some nation authorities fund the education of children partially or in full since it takes a great deal of money. While this trend brings about drawbacks, I would argue that these are outweighed by the benefits.

On the one hand, there are some negative consequences when authorities finance some or all the costs to educate children. The biggest drawback is that governments might run out of money to invest in other development concerns. In fact, rulers are faced with practical decisions on how to allocate their national finite budgets, and paying children’s education would mean less money to spend on pressing issues such as health care or the environment. Another disadvantageous impact is that some schoolchildren may take the government funding for granted and thus, lose motivation to study industriously. If pupils do not acknowledge how privileged they are when being able to enjoy such funded education, they might lose the incentive to get good grades at school or to attain their goals in life. In this regard, financial support from the government could be considered as a waste of money.

On the other hand, I believe that it is more beneficial for government authorities to finance children’s education partially or fully. Individually, with such funding, pupils from poorer sections with low incomes and no savings, those who can barely afford to go to school, will have the opportunity to be educated formally. As a result, they can later apply for well-paid careers such as engineers, doctors, and lawyers and enjoy a better standard of living. In terms of society as a whole, if children from low-income backgrounds have the chance to develop their talents thanks to the government’s financial support, social inequalities will definitely be alleviated and a highly civilized society will no longer be a utopian dream.

In conclusion, despite some negative impacts, it seems to me that the merits of government funding on children’s education have more than compensated for its disadvantages.