children should always follow their parents' advice

to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

In Vietnam, it is normal for children to listen to their parents. From an early age, children have been taught to be good and listen to the teachings of adults. Therefore, children should always follow the advice of their parents that has been imposed on them. I don't quite agree with this.

Agree that, parents are the ones who have gone before, they have gone through the challenges of life and learned many life lessons. So their advice can be very good for their children, but the reality is that they always want their children to follow their advice or in other words, they want their children to follow the advice without knowing whether their children want to or not.

Let me give you a few examples of your "advice" for your children. In shaping their future careers, parents should be the ones who are willing to advise their children in their profession, but some parents recommend careers that parents enjoy such as police, doctors, engineers, ... and force their children to go to school. It's not yet known if their children like it or not, and whether the profession is suitable for their children. In deciding on a partner, some parents always give useful advice to their children about choosing a wife or a husband for the future, but there are also some parents who "advise" their children to marry people like this, people like that, and never ask their children if they like it. Through the two examples above, people have found that the phrase "children should always follow the advice of their parents" is not completely true.

In general, it is a good thing for children to listen to their parents' advice, but children should be selective and receptive to the advice that is right for them. Children should make their own decisions so as not to regret the future.