Companies and other organization are requiring their employees to wear a uniform. Some people believe that this brings a positive impact while others disagree with this notion. Discuss both views and give your opinion

While wearing a uniform can improve company’s brands, the require of that in such companies and institutions might decrease fashion creativity for some people.

A notion is believed that wearing a uniform creates their branding in society. When employees wear the uniform, other people can see about brand of the office, making them have well memorize about such office brand in their minds. For instance, Bank Mandiri, one of stated-owned enterprises, have regulation for their employees to wear uniform in the form of dark blue long shirts with logo, making people know right away about such Bank when they see someone wearing the shirts. If the companies have stronger images, it will easier for them to attract their new customer in the future. However, in my opinion, branding is not only determined by wearing a uniform.

In contrast, from the employee point of view, the regulation to wear uniform will decrease creativity in term of fashion. While fashion always changes from year to year, wearing a uniform makes people have no chance to realize their concept about fashion trends. For example, evidence says that local government employees in Mojokerto, a city in Indonesia, have less fashion creativity when attending parties due to having habit to wear a uniform on their daily activities, compared to entrepreneur. The decrease of fashion creativity might affect in fashion industry, tending to stagnancy and it will be old fashion in the future. Therefore, giving chance to employee to determine their shirts worn in the office is a right choice.

In conclusion, although wearing a uniform not only can increase companies’ identity, such regulation might decrease fashion of creativity for some people. To compromise, it is suggested for companies to require wearing uniform in a day, and giving free fashion in another day.