Compare Hanoi city to Ho Chi Minh city in Vietnam

Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh cities are big cities in Vietnam which are ideal destinations for not only foreign tourists but also domestic tourists. It is very interesting to explore these two cities in order to find out their similarities and their differences.

In the first place, they share some similarities. Hanoi is quite crowded just like Ho Chi Minh city is. In addition, both of them offer many job opportunities from manual work to intellectual work. As a result, many people have been rushing into these cities to seek for jobs. Moreover, not only Hanoi but also Ho Chi Minh cities are educational, economic centers. Obviously, there is a variety of big shopping malls, famous universities and restaurants in these cities. Another similarity is that they have equal traffic problems, especially traffic congestion in rush hours.

However, they are different in some points. The first difference is their geography. Firstly, Hanoi is located in the North of Vietnam while Ho Chi Minh city is in the South of Vietnam. Secondly, the area of Hanoi is bigger than Ho Chi Minh city. In fact, Hanoi covers an area of more than 3000 square kilometers whereas the area of Ho Chi Minh city is only about 2000 square kilometers. In terms of population, Hanoi population is estimated about 9 million people but the residents of Ho Chi Minh city is approximate 8 million people. About weather, Hanoi has four different seasons including spring, summer, autumn and winter with the average annual temperature from 12 to 25 degrees Celsius but Ho Chi Minh city only has two seasons which are a wet season and a dry season with the temperature annual average from 25 to 35 degrees Celsius.

Another discrepancy between these cities is the culture. Regarding cuisine, the food in Ho Chi Minh city is more spicy and sweeter compared to Hanoi food because the Southern people always use a lot of chilli and sugar to prepare their dishes. The clearly different culture which can easily realize is night life. Night life in Ho Chi Minh city usually last over midnight; nonetheless, it always finishes before 11 pm in Hanoi. About people, Sai Gon people seem to be more friendly and open-minded than Hanoi people.

In conclusion, there are some similarities between Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh city such as crowded atmosphere, job opportunities, economic development and traffic problems. Besides, these cities also differ in the geography and the culture. It can be said that, each of them has its own unique features which attract tourists as well as workers.