Competitiveness is regarded as a positive quality for people in most societies. How does competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative trend?

We live in an age when most aspects of our lives are connected with competition due to the need to succeed. It can be beneficial to the community in terms of work productivity and so economy enhancements, with that being said it also can lead to negative effects such as health problems and personal issues.

Commencing with advantages of competitive environment, it has an influence on your working efficiency positively. Owing to the rivalry people will be more encouraged to study and work, hence the outcome of their efforts will be better. For example, majority of the teachers use competitions to make students study harder and also boost their retention of the information about the given topic. What is more, there is a competition amongst all of the countries in the world concerning the economy, it affects the quality of the products and services. It means the need and ambition to be the best leads to the better output regarding quality and quantity, increasing people’s standards of life. Therefore I believe that competitiveness is the main factor of improvements in life.

Regarding the drawbacks of rival, it can trigger the pressure in the workplace, which may have effects on working too. Most of the people have health issues because of the stress at work. Take businessmen for instance, after their stressful life they start having bad habits like smoking, alcohol addiction. On top of that, people lose trust in others and that hinders them to build social life. That loneliness make them unhappy and lose interest in living, because interaction with others is vital. So, it can lead to severe problems.

Weighing up both sides, I reckon that there are more benefits from competing within the realm of both education and work, and you can control negative results by your actions and choices.