Recently, a debate has been going on about the role of university degree in finding a job. Some people argue academic qualification is an excellent way to secure work, whereas others think personal attributes and experience help in this regard. Both these factors have their own importance but without soft skills and work experience, it is impossible to get an appropriate job nowadays.

The academic qualification helps a professional in learning basic idea of any field. It means that the subjects taught by expert teachers equip them with necessary information required to perform a task. Without these core concepts, professionals cannot grasp the ambiguities of job so, those who have university degrees produce better results and follow modern standards. Moreover, companies prefer the employees who have basic knowledge and know modern researches. For instance, companies like Apple only recruit employees who have Ivy league qualifications because they have excellent grip over their respective fields and are most connected to the new developments in technology. Hence, owing to the better understanding of the subject, those individuals who have university degrees have better chances to secure a position.

On the other hand, individuals who have worked in a particular field for years have in-depth knowledge about how the system works. They know the complexities of the field better than a fresh graduate coming out of university with no practical experience. Also, the world is going through a shift in definition of professionalism and soft skills like professional interactions and communication skills are now valued more than university qualifications. Furthermore, often the information taught in universities is outdated because the curriculum is seldom updated regularly. In countries like Pakistan, academic standards are not revised in decades so, professionals often possess university degrees but do not know necessary skills. Therefore, those who have work experience and professional attributes are considered better candidates for a job.

To conclude, university qualification teaches individuals conceptual and bookish knowledge but it is not always effective due to poor education standards in many universities. Also, due to a shift in professional definitions, soft skills and and work experience are valued more than mere pieces of paper in job market. Considering these it can be stated without doubt that having previous work experience and excellent interpersonal skills is the best way to secure a job.