computer is widely used in education and some people think that teachers will not play important role in the classroom. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Computers have been favored by more and more people especially educators and teachers as a key component of educational scheme. Some people think that its role in traditional classroom has taken place the role of teachers. From my perspective, despite tremendous benefits of computer, teachers still hold the decisive factors in passing on to knowledge.

There are myriad drawbacks which make computers less competent than teachers. Firstly, due to its programmatic limitation, its teaching is relatively uniform, repetitive and therefore, unsuited to the specific needs of each student. For example, computers are just answer questions which have been programed into but fail to answer any non-standard and unprecedented ones. Secondly, no matter comprehensively computers are programed, they are only a lifeless machine, thus, hardly can attend to emotional needs. They might be inability to discipline students. Additionally, because of lacking flexibility, computer fails to judge the improvement of students in terms of perception and unexpected performance.

However, the contribution of computer as teaching aid can never be underestimated. It not only assists teacher to present educational materials in diversified way but also provides repetitive drills to enhance the student’s command of knowledge. With the existence of computer, teachers might devote less time on paper work and therefore, more concentrating on developing critical thinking and other practical skill set of the students. Besides, it should be taken as an useful tool to store database in terms of marks systematically, which bring the sense of fairness among students without teachers’ intervention. Derived from the past, teachers would hold biased towards students whose parents stood on high social status or bribed them with enormous amount of money.

In conclusion, computer can only serve as teaching aid which helps assist teaching process more smoothly and facilitating students’ interest in a particular topic, rather than taking place of teachers.