Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is undeniably claimed that computers have been making a great contribution to human's life. While some people reckon that it is the most prominent invention, I personally believe that there are also other discoveries that has made people's lives comprehensively change other than the computers over the past hundred years.

First and foremost, human-beings could still be alive without computers but they could not be surviving without medical treatments, especially drugs. It is true that computers have brought people who live in distant areas become closer than ever thanks to improved communication methods but people would have become extinct if no aspirin had been manufactured. The aspirin, which was initiated in the 1890s, became the leading contributor to mitigating diseases such as fever and pains that might have killed millions of people all over the world.

Additionally, when it comes to catastrophic warnings, computers may rank the second, following the space discoveries, including aircrafts and satellites. Due to the positive outcomes from launches of rockets into the space, satellites are able to capture the pictures of the entire world's surface, analyze them and generate early alerts of foreseeable disasters. Initially, the statistics from satellites were sent to simple screen and human's brains did necessary research to find out the abnormalities of the data, which did not exploit computers' benefits. Apparently, the invention of rockets and spacecrafts was more significant than that of computers at that time.

To conclude, despite huge advantages of computers, it is profoundly stated that a plenty of other inventions in the history such as medicines and space exploration, deserve to be more appraised.