Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Computers are said to be a fundamental invention in the last few hundred years. In my opinion, I agree with this statement and I will elaborate my thoughts below.

First, computers are the fastest way for us to learn new things. Cutting-edge technology has given us the power to access things that might take a couple of days to get in the past. For instance, numerous academics in the past have had to traverse a whole continent just to have a book with few pages. Whereas people nowadays can sit at home and with a simple click of a button, they can get access to academic-level knowledge. Eventually, this means that everyone will get an equal chance to get access to education and brush up on skills that will be beneficial to them in the future.

In addition, electronic devices have created an entirely new market with immersive potential. With the invention of the computer, people now can buy things that they need without ever having to step out of their houses. Not only it is extremely convenient but also it has formed consumers new habits. This will create a more competitive market as retailers have to make their products work well, yet, the price still needs to be attractive. In the end, consumers will be benefited from this change.

In conclusion, computers are convenient and widely available. Hence, its potential can be used to help humans to take advantage of their God-given potential and buy things with much more competitive pricing.