Now many people spend less and less time at home. What are the causes for this? What are the effects of this on individuals and on the society?

In recent years, there has been a decrease in the amount of time people spend at home. This essay will discuss some of the reasons and effects of this phenomenon.

There are several reasons why people spend little time at home. In the modern world, everyone has their own economic burden as they have to pay for housing, food and many other necessities. Therefore, people stay at work for extra-shift to earn more money to have a saving for future plans they already contemplated. For instance, people in some East Asian countries, would go to work at 7 in the morning and not come back home no sooner than 9 p.m. Furthermore, in metropolitan areas, where all of the hotspots of night tourism are, citizens can have a broader range of choices for entertainment activities. Young adults, in particular, would rather stay up late and fool around with their mates than stays at home and miss all the fun.

There definitely are some advantages and drawbacks to this new change of behavior. On the one hand, people can have slightly higher incomes and opportunities in the future and the local economy can have greater growth with the number of overtime workers and people using local business services. However, this also poses a burning problem that individuals can experience stress and other mental health illness which eventually can drag the happiness index of that particular region or city down.

In conclusion, this change in way of behavior is a double-edged sword and there are many reasons that can lead to this sudden change.