Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is claimed that the invention of the computer can be considered a milestone in human evolution history. I completely agree with this point of view, as computers bring not only considerable improvement to our industry but also unrestricted access to knowledge.

The most noticeable contribution of the computer is that it has enabled a robotic industry, which is considerably more productive compared to our old-style one. The appearance of computers, indeed, has facilitated the development of robots and artificial intelligence, which is now greatly involved in the manufacturing process in numerous factories. In my home country Viet Nam, for instance, most assembling jobs in factories are done through the use of computers and machines, which tremendously help employers cut many costs and subsequently drives down the prices of goods. Furthermore, thanks to robots and computers, the procedure of checking goods' quality is now done more rigorously, ensuring the safety of consumers. With the popularity of computers in factories, it is safe to consider that computers have significantly changed our industry.

Furthermore, computers have offered unlimited access to information. These days, with a computer connected to the Internet, people can easily find vast resources of knowledge and material. In Vietnam, for example, there are many websites currently offering online courses carefully taught by experts for any levels, such as: Coursera, Duolingo, edX,...And it is not very uncommon for students to find class material and additional exercises through many informative platforms like Wikipedia and QandA. Therefore, there are more and more people currently learning new things on computers, which proves that this invention benefit humans in terms of accessing to knowledge.

In summary, with the development in the industry fields and the unlimited resources of knowledge, the computer definitely is one of the best inventions of the humankind. And people should continue advancing the computer in order to increasingly benefit from it.