Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together.

To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion

It is sometimes claimed that music is an effective measure for connecting people regardless of their races and ages. While I understand reasons why some oppose this idea, personally I strongly agree that music can bring people together, due to its ability to convey messages across borders and to preserve them through time.

For once, music can eradicate the cultural borders as music can express its meaning through rhythms and notes, making it understandable even to people who don’t speak the same language. My parents, for instance, despite not knowing any English, still have a deep passion for the 80s songs such as hits of Prince or rock songs of Queen. The main reason behind their love is that they can still sympathise and empathise with the feelings and spirits conveyed in these songs. Therefore, their fashion and thinking are partially impacted by the 80s trend in America. And most middle aged people in Vietnam like my parents, not understanding the language can not deter them from embracing with foreign cultures through songs.

Furthermore, thanks to the ability to perfectly preserve its content, music can serve as a mode to bring people in different generations together. Music, in every period of history, portrayed the lifestyle, spirits and hobbies of people living in the ages. Therefore, it is an interesting and vivid approach for the youth to understand the life of older generations, resulting in understanding and empathy between individuals. Take me as an example, in the past, I couldn’t understand many hobbies and mindsets of my grandparents. However, after hearing a few songs written in wartime, when my grandparents grew up, I was acknowledged about the hardship, the unyielding spirit and the passion to contribute to my grandparents, which subsequently made me appreciate them deeply. My story is a salient example on how greatly music can enhance people’s relationship.

To conclude, for the reasons outlined above, I strongly believe that music, with its magical capacity to convey and preserve its messages, can connect people, irrespective of their nationalities and ages.