Once children start school,teachers have more influence on their intellectual and social development.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It maintains as a hotly-debated topic whether the teachers or parents have a greater impact on childrens’ intellectual and social characteristics. In my opinion, while the teacher’s guidance throughout education sharpens their intelligence, the parents seem to impact their children’s social ability due to a larger amount of time they spend exchanging interpersonal interactions.

To begin with, most kids’ intelligence is considerably affected by their teachers as teachers are the ones giving them orientations in learning. Indeed, since students’ first day at school, under teachers’ guidance, the children can understand lessons and acquire logical skills. In Vietnam, for instance, in order to improve childrens’ average IQ, the government implemented programs improving teachers’ ability. Higher-quality teachers subsequently could convey lessons better and organise more activities to enhance students’ cognitive ability. Hence, the later research demonstrated an increase in students’ intellectual ability. The programs in Vietnam are a salient example of how great the teacher’s influence on children’s intelligence is.

On the other hand, the parental role is proven to be significant to the children’s social development as parents clearly spend more time socialising with kids. In fact, while children mainly accompany their teachers in academics, parents are generally the ones coupling with them in different social situations. Take me as an example, most of my social manners are comparable to those of my parents. My friendliness is the result of the many times my mom insisted on its importance to build new relationships. It is clear that many kids, like me, are influenced by their parents due to a large amount of time in various social situations.

In conclusion, for the reasons outlined above, in addition to the need for teachers ' involvement in terms of intelligence, children also need parental guidance in developing social ability to become a respectable resident in the future.