Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The technological advances have increasingly enabled people to work and to study regardless of their locations through numerous platforms. I firmly believe that this phenomenon clearly brings more consequences since it can adversely influence both people's health and work performance.

It is undeniable that classrooms and offices, which are initially designed solely for work, bring far more benefit to our performance. These professional spaces ensure a high level of facility and stationery items which are needed to complete our tasks. My mother, for instance, an accountant having to work from home during the Covid 19 pandemic, faced many difficulties while trying to finish her missions. In the previous period, she could get documents signed by heads of each departments within several minutes by walking to their offices. Due to remote working, she had to write many emails and wait for such a long time in order to do that same job, which was very ineffective. The story of my mother is one of many showing that working from home negatively affects on work productivity.

Furthermore, there are many health problems stemming from online learning and working. This type of work requires people spend an enormous amount of time sitting and glueing their face to digital screens, leading to many illness and disorders, such as: shortsightedness, muscle cramps,...For example, in my city, after the lockdown period, when most people worked from home, a considerable increase in the number of people diagnosed with eye problems was recorded. The majority of those are students and office workers, who admitted spending far more time using digital devices for study and work than they had done before. This example is a powerful indicator that remote working and distant learning cause many negative effects on human health.

In conclusion, despite gaining an increasing popularity among the public, in my opinion, working from home and online studying still pose a great threat on work efficiency and humans' health. People should carefully consider these disadvantages before making a shift to this new type of work and study.